The Georgescu-Roegen Prize

The Georgescu-Roegen Prize is awarded each year by the Southern Economic Association® for the best academic article published in the Southern Economic Journal®. The prize consists of an engraved plaque and a monetary award. Recipients of the prize are chosen by a selection committee consisting of the Editor of the Southern Economic Journal® and two Vice Presidents of the Southern Economic Association®.

The selection committee awarded the 2018 Georgescu-Roegen Prize to:

  • Angela Dills (Western Carolina University) and Sean Mulholland (Western Carolina University)

Angela Dills and Sean Mulholland were awarded the 2018 Georgescu-Roegen Prize for theri article titled, “Ride-Sharing, Fatal Crashes, and Crime” published in volume 84 of the Southern Economic Journal® (SEJ, volume 84, issue 4, April 2018).

2017 Scott Barkowski (Clemson University)
2016 Michael T. French (University of Miami)
Johanna Catherine Maclean (Temple University)
Philip K. Robins (University of Miami)
Bisma Sayed (University of Miami)
Leah Shiferaw (University of California, Berkeley)
2015 Mauricio Caceres (Columbia University)
Kenneth P. Jameson (University of Utah)
2014 Arnaud Dupuy (CEPS/INSTEAD)
Todd Sorensen (University of Nevada, Reno)
2013 Dhaval Dave (Bentley University)
Henry Saffer (Kean University)
2012 W. David Bradford (University of Georgia)
Andrew N. Kleit (The Pennsylvania State University)
2011 Bulent Anil (University of Minnesota-Duluth)
David L. Sjoquist (Georgia State University)
Sally Wallace (Georgia State University )
2010 Joseph J. Sabia (American University)
Richard V. Burkhauser (Cornell University)
2009 Russell S. Sobel (West Virginia University)
Brian J. Osoba (Central Connecticut State University)
2008 Brett Katzman (Kennesaw State University)
Kerry Anne McGeary (Drexel University)
Brian Duncan (University of Colorado at Denver)
Laura Argys (University of Colorado at Denver)
2007 Daniel P. McMillen (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Paul T. Seaman (University of Dundee)
Larry D. Singell, Jr. (University of Oregon)
2006 Çagatay Koç (University of Texas at Arlington)
2005 Mark Dickie (University of Central Florida)
2004 Paul Devereux (University of California, Los Angeles)
2003 Rachel Connelly (Bowdoin College)
Jean Kimmel (Western Michigan University)
2002 Jennifer L. Troyer (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
2001 Jakob B. Madsen (Brunel University(U.K.))
2000 Ann L. Owen (Hamilton College)
1999 Robert K. Fleck (Montana State University)
1998 George R. Clarke (The World Bank)
Robert P. Strauss (Carnegie Mellon University)
1997 Robert H. Frank (Cornell University)
1996 J. Stephen Ferris (Carleton University(Canada))
Edwin G. West (Cornell University)
1995 Charles R.Plott (California Institute of Technology)
Alexandre Borges Sugiyama (California Institute of Technology)
Filad Elbaz (California Institute of Technology)
1994 Dennis C. Mueller (University of Maryland)
Elizabeth A. Reardon (Department of Justice)
1993 Richard G. Frank (Johns Hopkins University)
David S. Salkever(Johns Hopkins University)
1992 Randall Holcombe (Florida State University)
1991 Mwangi S. Kimenyi (University of Connecticut)